Skip to content

Apparently a sonnet I wrote in senior year of high school

January 27, 2013

I went to winter formal with an awesome person named Zoe in my senior year of high school. Since then, I have been wondering, Wait, why did she agree to go with me? only like half-jokingly.

Today, my friend Dylan helped me answer that question by showing me a sonnet, which evidently I used for the purpose of actually inviting Zoe (verbal communication has always frightened me). Dylan had the sonnet archived in his email; I guess I sent it to him so he could edit it for me.

An invite to formal lies in your hands
From a suitor veiled in obscurity.
Decipher these clues and traverse these lands
If you’d like to go to formal with me.

Your first destination is familiar,
And it is stocked with the comforts of home.
If you find yourself near those in our year,
Know that you have not much farther to roam.

You may usually accept a slice of gum
But this kind has been in somebody’s mouth.
I don’t think you’ll find this clue troublesome,
But if it is remember to look south.

You may find this poem cheesy, but only
‘Cause I wish you’d go to formal with me.

Now, reader, it is time for an Action Poll.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

